Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Thief

by Maureen Gibbon - £8.99  Atlantic Books (2012)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9781848871847 | ISBN 10: 1848871848

This explosive, riveting, controversial novel about sex and sexuality is essential reading for fans of Alice Sebold, Lionel Shriver and M J Hyland.

"A shocking novel that grips from the first page."
(Independent)
One lazy summer, Suzanne escapes her life in the city for a long holiday in the countryside. She rents a cabin in the woods, and places a personal ad in the newspaper: "Great kisser, good listener."
 
Among the several replies to her ad, one stands out. An ordinary letter, unremarkable in every way, except for the postmark: Stillwater State Prison.
 
The sender is Alpha Breville. A convict, a thief, and a rapist. Perhaps against her better judgement, she writes back to him. But what begins as a remote correspondence quickly evolves into something much more dangerous, exciting, and intimate...

(Price & availability last checked: June 2019)

This website can't tell you if we have this book in the shop or not - to ask, phone us or use the enquiry link below. (We can order most books within 7-10 days, subject to availability.)
  


In booklists: Writers by Surname - G,
In categories: Fiction,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd IP24524R 2004-2021 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page