Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

The Cook

by Ajay Chowdhury - £12.99  Vintage Publishing (2022)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9781787303140 | ISBN 10: 1787303144

'A refreshing and welcome addition to the world of detective fiction' Abir Mukherjee
'A real surprise... It is not just the descriptions of food that leave you hungry for more' The Times
'Marvellous' Alex Marwood
 
Kamil Rahman is a cook in a Brick Lane restaurant. But he used to be a detective back in Kolkata.
And somehow trouble still knows how to find him.

 
When a young woman Kamil knows is murdered the police are convinced her boyfriend is the culprit. Kamil isn't so sure and feels he has no choice but to start his own investigation. Meanwhile, his friend and restaurant manager, Anjoli, is troubled by a rise in the number of homeless deaths in their local area.
 
Initially the cases seem unrelated, but as the duo dig deeper, they discover connections that stretch from London to Lahore.
 
Together they take on the indifference of the authorities to the homeless and the casual racism that pervades the investigation of killings of Muslims - all while trying to stop a supremely intelligent murderer who always seems to be several steps ahead of them.
 
From the award-winning author of The Waiter comes the second page-turning mystery starring detective-turned-cook Kamil Rahman. For readers of Anthony Horowitz, Robert Galbraith and Elly Griffiths.

(Price & availability last checked: June 2022)

This website can't tell you if we have this book in the shop or not - to ask, phone us or use the enquiry link below. (We can order most books within 7-10 days, subject to availability.)
  

Featured book: New Fiction, New Books - Black, Asian & Other Diasporas,
In booklists: Best New Fiction, Writers by Surname - C, Crime Fiction and Thrillers, Fiction and Poetry - Anti-Racism,
In categories: Fiction, Anti-Racism, Poetry & Writing,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd IP24524R 2004-2022 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page