Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Sad Janet

by Lucie Britsch - £8.99  Orion Publishing Co (2021)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9781409198666 | ISBN 10: 1409198669

A whip-smart black comedy for fans of Fleabag and My Year of Rest and Relaxation.
  Named one of the Best Books of the Summer by LitHub, The Millions, Refinery29, and Hey Alma.
 
Meet Janet. Janet is sad. Not about her life, about the world. Have you seen it these days?
 
The thing is, she’s not out to make anyone else sad. She’s not turning up to weddings shouting that most marriages end in divorce. She just wants to wear her giant coat, get rid of her passive-aggressive boyfriend, and avoid human interaction at the rundown dog shelter where she works.
 
That is, until word spreads about a new pill that promises cynics like her one day off from being sad. When her family stages an intervention, and the prospect of making it through Christmas alone seems like too much, Janet finally decides to give them what they want. What follows is life-changing for all concerned – in ways no one quite expects.
 
Hilarious, provocative and profound, Sad Janet is the antidote to our happiness-obsessed world.

(Price & availability last checked: August 2021)

This website can't tell you if we have this book in the shop or not - to ask, phone us or use the enquiry link below. (We can order most books within 7-10 days, subject to availability.)
  

Featured book: New Fiction, News from Nowhere recommends..., Recommended Fiction & Poetry for Yuletide 2021!,
In booklists: Best New Fiction, Writers By Surname - B,
In categories: Fiction,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd IP24524R 2004-2021 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page