Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Collected Poems: Her Blue Body Everything We Know : Earthling Poems 1965-1990

by Alice Walker - £9.99  Orion Publishing Co (2005)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9780753819616 | ISBN 10: 0753819619

The collected poems of the Pulitzer Prize winning author of The Color Purple.
' I am the woman
offering two flowers
whose roots
are twin.
Justice and Hope
Hope and Justice
Let us begin'
Alice Walker has been writing poetry since the summer of 1965, when she travelled to East Africa and began the collection Once while sitting beneath a tree facing Mount Kenya.
Encompassing the collections Once, Revolutionary Petunias & Other Poems, Good Night Willie Lee, I'll See You in the Morning, and Horses Make a Landscape Look More Beautiful as well as other poems, this is a wonderful, surprising, entertaining collection that offers a historical perspective on the evolution of both the poetry itself and the political and spiritual inspiration behind it.

(Price & availability last checked: February 2020)

This website can't tell you if we have this book in the shop or not - to ask, phone us or use the enquiry link below. (We can order most books within 7-10 days, subject to availability.)

In booklists: Alice Walker, Black and Asian Poets, World Poetry - North America and Canada,
In categories: Feminism & Women, Black, Asian & Other Diasporas, Poetry & Writing, World - North America,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd IP24524R 2004-2021 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page