Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Hurricane Child

by Kacen Callender - £6.99  Scholastic (2021)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9780702310218 | ISBN 10: 0702310212

Winner of the Stonewall Book Award and the Lambda Literary Award By National Book Award winner Kacen Callender, this exquisite novel reminds us that grief and love can open the world in mystical ways.
 
Caroline Murphy is a Hurricane Child.
 
Being born during a hurricane is unlucky, and 12-year-old Caroline has had her share of bad luck lately. She's hated and bullied by everyone in her small school on St. Thomas of the US Virgin Islands, a spirit only she can see won't stop following her, and - worst of all - Caroline's mother left home one day and never came back.
 
But when a new student named Kalinda arrives, Caroline's luck begins to turn around. Kalinda, a solemn girl from Barbados with a special smile for everyone, becomes Caroline's first and only friend -- and the person for whom Caroline has begun to develop a crush.
 
Now, Caroline must find the strength to confront her feelings for Kalinda, brave the spirit stalking her through the islands, and face the reason her mother abandoned her. Together, Caroline and Kalinda must set out in a hurricane to find Caroline's missing mother -- before Caroline loses her for ever.
 
Perfect for fans of Boy At the Back of the Class, Pocketful of Stars, and Rooftoppers. This arresting debut novel won the Stonewall Book Award as well as the Lambda Literary Award.
 
If you love this story, check out Kacen Callender's National-Book-Award-winning King and the Dragonflies!

(Price & availability last checked: June 2021)

This website can't tell you if we have this book in the shop or not - to ask, phone us or use the enquiry link below. (We can order most books within 7-10 days, subject to availability.)
  

Featured book: New Books - Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender, New Books for Young Adults,
In booklists: Black and Asian Characters: Young Adult Fiction, Fiction - Young Adults, Fiction - Lesbian Fiction for Young Women,
In categories: Childrens & Teenage Books, Black, Asian & Other Diasporas, Fiction, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexuality & Transgender,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd IP24524R 2004-2021 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page