Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

The website can't tell you if a book is in the shop or not, & though we do our best to keep information up to date, occasionally prices may change a little - so if you would like to check any information before ordering a book, call us or use the enquiry links to ask

Books are listed in order of year of publication - newest titles are at the top. There are 18 books in this booklist

This list represents some of the books on this subject that we have had in our shop - but there will be many more that we can order for you!

  • Cover image of book Asha & the Spirit Bird by Jasbinder Bilan
    Asha & the Spirit Bird - by Jasbinder Bilan

    £6.99   paperback   (2019) - ISBN 13: 9781911490197 | ISBN 10: 1911490192

    Asha lives on the family farm with her mother in rural India.   Her father is away working in the city, and when the money he sends stops suddenly, a wicked debt collector arrives. She’s determined to seize the property – and the treasure ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book When the Mountains Roared by Jess Butterworth
    When the Mountains Roared - by Jess Butterworth

    £6.99   paperback   (2018) - ISBN 13: 9781510102118 | ISBN 10: 1510102116

    A vivid, warm and atmospheric adventure set in the mountains of India, about a girl who is determined to protect the wild leopards of the mountain from poachers, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell.  I thought we'd live here forever ... but ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Land and the People: India by Susie Brooks
    The Land and the People: India - by Susie Brooks

    £8.99   paperback   (2017) - ISBN 13: 9780750298094 | ISBN 10: 075029809x

    India: the Land and People takes you on a whistlestop tour around this most amazing country. Explore its rainforests, rivers (including the great Ganges), mountains and beaches, and meet some incredible wildlife along the way. Marvel at the vibrant s ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Tales from India by Bali Rai
    Tales from India - by Bali Rai

    £6.99   paperback   (2017) - ISBN 13: 9780141373065 | ISBN 10: 0141373067

    A collection of 20 stories from India's rich folklore heritage. From wicked magicians to wise old priests, charming princes and beautiful princesses, to greedy tigers and wily jackals, these magical tales are full of adventure and trickery, and infus ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Indian Tales by Shenaaz Nanji, illustrated by Christopher Corr
    Indian Tales - by Shenaaz Nanji, illustrated by Christopher Corr

    £10.99   paperback   (2017) - ISBN 13: 9781782853572 | ISBN 10: 178285357x

    Discover India's incredible diversity with these 8 folktales, each from a different Indian state! Learn more about each state's history, geography and culture with the notes that introduce each story.   The tales include:  - The Drummer ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Riding on a Caravan: A Silk Road Adventure by Laurie Krebs, illustrated by Helen Cann
    Riding on a Caravan: A Silk Road Adventure - by Laurie Krebs, illustrated by Helen Cann

    £6.99   paperback   (2017) - ISBN 13: 9781782853442 | ISBN 10: 1782853448

    Travel along the Silk Road with a multi-generational family from Xi'an, China, to where China and India meet. Along the way, you'll explore China's varied geography and discover how the Silk Road fostered cultural diversity a century ago.  Inclu ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Once Upon a World: Rapunzel (Board Book) by Chloe Perkins, illustrated by Archana Sreenivasan
    Once Upon a World: Rapunzel (Board Book) - by Chloe Perkins, illustrated by Archana Sreenivasan

    £8.99   paperback   (2017) - ISBN 13: 9781481490726 | ISBN 10: 1481490729

    The classic tale of Rapunzel gets a fresh twist in this third book of a brand-new board book series, Once Upon a World.   With India as the backdrop, and vibrant artwork from illustrator Archana Sreenivasan, Rapunzel is still the same girl who le ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book A Jar of Pickles and a Pinch of Justice by Chitra Soundar, illustrated by Uma Krishnaswamy
    A Jar of Pickles and a Pinch of Justice - by Chitra Soundar, illustrated by Uma Krishnaswamy

    £5.99   paperback   (2016) - ISBN 13: 9781406364675 | ISBN 10: 1406364673

    Further delightful trickster tales from India.   Prince Veera and his best friend, Suku, are left in charge of King Beema's court when the king goes off on a hunting trip. Each day the king's subjects come before the boys with their problems a ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Gandhi for Kids: His Life and Ideas, with 21 Activities by Ellen Mahoney
    Gandhi for Kids: His Life and Ideas, with 21 Activities - by Ellen Mahoney

    £15.50   paperback   (2016) - ISBN 13: 9781613731222 | ISBN 10: 1613731221

    With his wire-rimmed glasses, homespun cloths, and walking stick, Mohandas Gandhi is an international symbol of nonviolence, freedom, simplicity, and peace. Tracing Gandhi's evolution from a shy boy in India to a courageous, world-traveling spiritual ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Seasons of Splendour: Tales, Myths and Legends of India by Madhur Jaffrey, illustrated by Michael Foreman
    Seasons of Splendour: Tales, Myths and Legends of India - by Madhur Jaffrey, illustrated by Michael Foreman

    £6.99   paperback   (2016) - ISBN 13: 9780141370026 | ISBN 10: 0141370025

    India is particularly rich in colourful follore. These stories, told by parents to their children for many generations, make a rich and dazzling collection of mythological tales drawn from a great heritage of Hindu epics - from the life of the great ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Honey Hunter by Karthika Nar and Jolle Jolivet
    The Honey Hunter - by Karthika Nar and Jolle Jolivet

    £15.00   hardback   (2016) - ISBN 13: 9783899557305 | ISBN 10: 3899557301

    The story of the honey hunter begins in Sundarban, a land of eighteen tides and six seasons, where three rivers meet in a huge mangrove forest. At first, everything is peaceful for the thousands and thousands of honeybees that live there not far from ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Ganesha
    Ganesha's Sweet Tooth - by Sanjay Patel and Emily Haynes

    £5.99   paperback   (2015) - ISBN 13: 9781452145563 | ISBN 10: 1452145563

    The bold, bright colors of India leap off the page in this fresh and funny picture book retelling of how Ganesha came to help write the epic poem of Hindu literature, the Mahabharata.   Ganesha is just like any other kid, except that he has t ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book DK Eyewitness: Gandhi by DK Publishing
    DK Eyewitness: Gandhi - by DK Publishing

    £6.99   paperback   (2014) - ISBN 13: 9781409370581 | ISBN 10: 1409370585

    DK Eyewitness Gandhi is a spectacular and informative guide to one of history's most complex and revered personalities. Striking photographs offer you a unique view of Mahatma Gandhi's legacy, tracing his life from his early childhood to his assassin ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Walking the Bear by Nicola Davies, illustrated By Annabel Wright
    Walking the Bear - by Nicola Davies, illustrated By Annabel Wright

    £4.99   paperback   (2013) - ISBN 13: 9781406340891 | ISBN 10: 1406340898

    A child, a wild animal and a life-changing encounter. An exciting new range of books in which children find solutions to problems through conservation rather than killing.  Zaki lives in northern India. His father mistreats his wife and child ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Elephant Road by Nicola Davies, illustrated By Annabel Wright
    The Elephant Road - by Nicola Davies, illustrated By Annabel Wright

    £5.99   paperback   (2013) - ISBN 13: 9781406340877 | ISBN 10: 1406340871

    A child, a wild animal � and a life-changing encounter. An exciting new range of books in which children find solutions to problems through conservation rather than killing.  One night, Wilen is woken up when his hut is tipped sideways by eleph ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Grasshopper
    The Grasshopper's Run - by Siddhartha Sarma

    £6.99   paperback   (2011) - ISBN 13: 9781408809402 | ISBN 10: 1408809400

    Just as the invasion begins, an ambitious and vicious Japanese officer orders the massacre of a village of the Ao Naga tribe. Among those killed is Uti, grandson of the eldest Ao chief.  Gojen is his best friend, and on hearing the news o ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book A Beautiful Lie by Irfan Master
    A Beautiful Lie - by Irfan Master

    £7.99   paperback   (2011) - ISBN 13: 9781408805756 | ISBN 10: 1408805758

    An atmospheric, quirky and moving debut novel, set in India. Shortlisted for the Waterstones Childrens Book Prize and nominated for the 2011 Branford Boase Award.  An extraordinarily rich debut novel, set in India in 1947 at the time of ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book City of Ghosts by Bali Rai
    City of Ghosts - by Bali Rai

    £7.99   paperback   (2010) - ISBN 13: 9780552556019 | ISBN 10: 0552556017

    It's 1919 and Amritsar is a city on the brink of rebellion. Riots, violence and tension spill onto the streets...   Bissen Singh fought bravely for the British Empire during World War One. Now he waits patiently for news from England.  ... more

    View book details    

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd 2004-2019 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page