Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

The Suffragette Movement: Books for Children & Young Adults -

Related categories: Feminism & Women / Childrens & Teenage Books /
Related booklists: The Suffragette Movement and the Fight for the Vote,

These are some of the books on this subject that we have had in our shop - but there will be many others that we can also order! (Note: this website cannot tell you if we have a book in stock right now or not, and though we do our best to keep information up to date, occasionally prices may have changed.)
The COVID-19 crisis is causing delays in supply from some book distributors, and currently most books take at least 1 - 2 weeks to come in - so if you need any of these books urgently, or by a specific date, use the enquiry links to ask about supply time.

Books are listed in order of year of publication - newest titles are at the top. There are 13 books in this booklist

  • Cover image of book The Unstoppable Letty Pegg by Iszi Lawrence
    The Unstoppable Letty Pegg - by Iszi Lawrence

    £6.99   paperback   (2020) - ISBN 13: 9781472962478 | ISBN 10: 1472962478

    A brilliant debut historical adventure from writer and comedian Iszi Lawrence, perfect for fans of Emma Carroll, The Princess and the Suffragette, and Opal Plumstead.  The story of the suffragettes with the Jiu Jitsu and roller skating left i ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Suffragettes and the Fight for the Vote by Sarah Ridley
    Suffragettes and the Fight for the Vote - by Sarah Ridley

    £9.99   paperback   (2019) - ISBN 13: 9781445152622 | ISBN 10: 1445152622

    A fascinating book that tells the story of the campaign for votes for women in Britain.  This book tells the story of the campaign to get women the vote in Britain. Beginning by looking at the role of women in the 19th Century and ending wit ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Emmeline Pankhurst by Haydn Kaye, illustrated by Michael Cotton-Russell
    Emmeline Pankhurst - by Haydn Kaye, illustrated by Michael Cotton-Russell

    £6.99   paperback   (2018) - ISBN 13: 9781910989616 | ISBN 10: 1910989614

    True life stories of the most amazing people EVER!   Meet EMMELINE PANKHURST, the feisty campaigner who fought a tough battle to win the vote for British women - and inspired thousands of others all over the world.   Find out:   - Why ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Princess and the Suffragette by Holly Webb
    The Princess and the Suffragette - by Holly Webb

    £6.99   paperback   (2018) - ISBN 13: 9781407185651 | ISBN 10: 1407185659

    Holly’s dreamy new sequel to the classic story A Little Princess. Rags, riches and a fight for rights!   It’s 1913, and Britain’s young women want change. All over London, they’re uniting to demand a vote – a real voice. Meanwhile, life ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Make More Noise! by Various authors
    Make More Noise! - by Various authors

    £7.99   paperback   (2018) - ISBN 13: 9781788002394 | ISBN 10: 1788002393

    "You have to make more noise than anybody else"(Emmeline Pankhurst, leader of the British Suffragette movement) An incredible collection of brand new short stories, from ten of the UK’s very best storytellers, celebrating inspirational girls ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book My Best Friend the Suffragette by Sally Morgan, illustrated by Gareth Conway
    My Best Friend the Suffragette - by Sally Morgan, illustrated by Gareth Conway

    £4.99   paperback   (2018) - ISBN 13: 9781407184623 | ISBN 10: 1407184628

    Best friends don’t always have to agree, right?  It’s 1913. Christine has been taught that a girl’s place is at home, looking after her family and putting up with BEASTLY BIG BROTHERS. Mary has been taught that a girl’s place is learning ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Rebel Voices: The Rise of Votes for Women by Louise Kay Stewart, illustrated by Eve Lloyd Knight
    Rebel Voices: The Rise of Votes for Women - by Louise Kay Stewart, illustrated by Eve Lloyd Knight

    £12.99   hardback   (2018) - ISBN 13: 9781526300232 | ISBN 10: 1526300230

    Rule Breakers. Risk Takers. Rebel Women. Law Makers. A celebration of women standing up, speaking out and sticking together to battle inequality and win the vote.   If you loved Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls, Fantastically Great Women Who ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Girls for the Vote by Linda Newberry
    Girls for the Vote - by Linda Newberry

    £6.99   paperback   (2018) - ISBN 13: 9781474948401 | ISBN 10: 1474948405

    Polly longs to become an explorer. But in 1914, women's rights and choices are limited – something twelve-year-old Polly learns when she befriends her new neighbours: two suffragettes, fighting for women's rights to vote.   Polly's parents are a ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Fact Cat - History: Emily Davison by Izzi Howell
    Fact Cat - History: Emily Davison - by Izzi Howell

    £7.99   paperback   (2017) - ISBN 13: 9780750294904 | ISBN 10: 0750294906

    A charming introduction to key curriculum topics for young children.   Find out about the exciting life of Emily Davison. Read about her childhood and learn about the marches and protests of the WSPU. Discover what happened at the Epsom Derby ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Things a Bright Girl Can Do by Sally Nicholls
    Things a Bright Girl Can Do - by Sally Nicholls

    £7.99   paperback   (2017) - ISBN 13: 9781783446735 | ISBN 10: 1783446730

    Through rallies and marches, in polite drawing rooms and freezing prison cells and the poverty-stricken slums of the East End, three courageous young women join the fight for the vote.   Evelyn is seventeen, and though she is rich and clever, she ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book History VIPs: Emmeline Pankhurst by Kay Barnham
    History VIPs: Emmeline Pankhurst - by Kay Barnham

    £8.99   paperback   (2016) - ISBN 13: 9780750299404 | ISBN 10: 0750299401

    Bring the 'dead famous' back to life! Discover exceptional figures from British history, and explore the society in which they lived.   Votes for Women! This biography tells the story of Emmeline Pankhurst, from her early campaigns for the rig ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book My Story: Suffragette by Carol Drinkwater
    My Story: Suffragette - by Carol Drinkwater

    £6.99   paperback   (2015) - ISBN 13: 9781407156521 | ISBN 10: 1407156527

    We marched from the Embankment to the Albert Hall. It was a glorious day. The sun shone warmly. Everyone was in good spirits. There were aristocrats, artists, even my mother looked happy. She who has been so opposed to my work with the WSPU. More th ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Opal Plumstead by Jacqueline Wilson, illustrated by Nick Sharratt
    Opal Plumstead - by Jacqueline Wilson, illustrated by Nick Sharratt

    £6.99   paperback   (2015) - ISBN 13: 9780552574013 | ISBN 10: 0552574015

    Opal Plumstead might be plain, but she has always been fiercely intelligent. Yet her scholarship and dreams of university are snatched away when her father is sent to prison, and fourteen-year-old Opal must start work at the Fairy Glen sweet factory ... more

    View book details    

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd 2004-2020 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page