Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Animal Rights - Books for Children -

Related categories: Childrens & Teenage Books / Environment & Animal Rights /
Related booklists: Environmental Issues - Books for Children, Animal Rights, Anti-Hunting - Books for Children, Vegetarian and Vegan Books for Children,

This website can't tell you if a book is in our shop right now or not. Most books can be ordered within 7-10 days, subject to availability. You can always call us or use the enquiry links to ask if a book is in stock or how long it would take to order. (Note: we do our best to keep information up to date, but occasionally prices may have changed.)

Books are listed in order of year of publication - newest titles are at the top. There are 12 books in this booklist

  • Cover image of book When the Mountains Roared by Jess Butterworth
    When the Mountains Roared - by Jess Butterworth

    £6.99   paperback   (2018) - ISBN 13: 9781510102118 | ISBN 10: 1510102116

    A vivid, warm and atmospheric adventure set in the mountains of India, about a girl who is determined to protect the wild leopards of the mountain from poachers, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell.  I thought we'd live here forever ... but ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Audrey (Cow) by Dan Bar-el
    Audrey (Cow) - by Dan Bar-el

    £7.99   paperback   (2016) - ISBN 13: 9781770496033 | ISBN 10: 1770496033

    Audrey is a cow with poetry in her blood, who yearns for the greener pastures beyond Bittersweet Farms. But when Roy the horse tells this bovine dreamer that she is headed for Abbot's War, the slaughter house, Audrey knows that she must leave her hom ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Maddie Doyle and the Mystery of Heather Bank Farm by Christine McLaughin
    Maddie Doyle and the Mystery of Heather Bank Farm - by Christine McLaughin

    £6.99   paperback   (2015) - ISBN 13: 9780993379406 | ISBN 10: 0993379400

    Should humans be kind to animals? Maddie Doyle certainly thinks so.   A magical treetop encounter leads Maddie on a curious journey of discovery, involving a mathematically-minded dog, an ill-tempered bunny and a maverick chimpanzee from the s ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Beasts of Clawstone Castle by Eva Ibbotson
    The Beasts of Clawstone Castle - by Eva Ibbotson

    £6.99   paperback   (2014) - ISBN 13: 9781447265634 | ISBN 10: 1447265637

    A truly captivating spooky adventure from the outstanding Eva Ibbotson, bestselling author of Journey to the River Sea.  'We need proper ghosts,' said Ned, 'really scary ones with heads that come off and daggers in their chests!'  When Madlyn and ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Moon Bear by Gill Lewis, illustrated by Mark Owen
    Moon Bear - by Gill Lewis, illustrated by Mark Owen

    £6.99   paperback   (2014) - ISBN 13: 9780192793546 | ISBN 10: 0192793543

    When a sick cub arrives at the cruel bear farm, no one expects it to survive. But twelve-year-old Tarn refuses to give up hope - he nurses the bear back to health and they form an unbreakable bond.   Tarn swears to return his bear to the wild ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Vegan is Love: Having Heart and Taking Action by Ruby Roth
    Vegan is Love: Having Heart and Taking Action - by Ruby Roth

    £13.99   hardback   (2012) - ISBN 13: 9781583943540 | ISBN 10: 1583943544

    In Vegan Is Love, author-illustrator Ruby Roth introduces young readers to veganism as a lifestyle of compassion and action. Broadening the scope of her popular first book Thatís Why We Donít Eat Animals, Roth illustrates how our daily choices ripple ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book An Elephant in the Garden by Michael Morpurgo
    An Elephant in the Garden - by Michael Morpurgo

    £6.99   paperback   (2011) - ISBN 13: 9780007339587 | ISBN 10: 0007339585

    Itís 1945. Elizabeth's father is fighting with the German army on the eastern front. Her mother works at Dresden zoo, where her favourite animal is a young elephant named Marlene.   When the zoo director tells her the dangerous animals must b ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book How to Heal a Broken Wing by Bob Graham
    How to Heal a Broken Wing - by Bob Graham

    £6.99   paperback   (2010) - ISBN 13: 9781406325492 | ISBN 10: 140632549x

    When Will helps an injured bird, he learns that a little kindness can go a long way.   No one in the busy city sees the bird lying on the pavement, its wing broken. No one but a small boy called Will. He and his mum carry it home and, with time ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Animal Lab (Shades series) by Malcolm Rose
    Animal Lab (Shades series) - by Malcolm Rose

    £5.99   paperback   (2008) - ISBN 13: 9780237536169 | ISBN 10: 0237536161

    Jamie Littlewood is as bald as the monkey he's looking after at the local animal lab. The drug company he works for says the monkey is helping find a cure. His sister Petra says the animal experiments they are doing are wrong. Who is right? And what ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Why the Whales Came by Michael Morpurgo
    Why the Whales Came - by Michael Morpurgo

    £6.99   paperback   (2007) - ISBN 13: 9781405229258 | ISBN 10: 140522925x

    Gracie and her friend Daniel have always been warned to stay away from the Birdman and his side of the island. But then they find a message in the sand and discover the Birdman is not who they thought. They build up a lovely friendship with him, but ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Click, Clack, Moo, Cows That Type by Doreen Cronin & Betsy Lewin
    Click, Clack, Moo, Cows That Type - by Doreen Cronin & Betsy Lewin

    £6.99   paperback   (2002) - ISBN 13: 9780743461511 | ISBN 10: 0743461517

    This is clearly a completely mad story, with a bit of an animal liberation edge! Are the authors really called Doreen & Betsy? I smell a heap of cow droppings. ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Pony Express by Mairin Johnston
    The Pony Express - by Mairin Johnston

    £5.50   paperback   (1993) - ISBN 13: 9781855940871 | ISBN 10: 1855940876

    One day, 13-year-old Kate witnesses a scene of cruelty involving a number of donkeys and learns that they are bound for "The Pony Express". Kate then discovers that the mother of her foal is one of the victims and resolves to save the animals. ... more

    View book details    

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd IP24524R 2004-2020 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page