Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

A River in the Trees

by Jacqueline O’Mahony - £8.99  Quercus Publishing (riverrun) (2019)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9781787473553 | ISBN 10: 1787473554

Two women.
Two stories.
One hundred years of secrets.
 
A sweeping novel of love, loss, family and history for readers who love Maggie O’Farrell, John Boyne and Donal Ryan.
 
1919
Ireland is about to be torn apart by the War of Independence.
 
Hannah O’Donovan helps her father hide rebel soldiers in the attic, putting her family in great danger from the British soldiers who roam the countryside. An immediate connection between Hannah and O’Riada, the leader of this hidden band of rebels, will change her life and that of her family forever...
 
2019
Ellen is at a crossroads: her marriage is in trouble, her career is over and she’s grieving the loss of a baby. After years in London, she decides to come home to Ireland to face the things she’s tried so hard to escape. Reaching into the past, she feels a connection to her ancestor, the mysterious Hannah O’Donovan. But why won’t anyone in her family talk about Hannah? And how can this journey help Ellen put her life back together?

(Price & availability last checked: July 2019)

The website can't tell you if this book is in the shop or not, sorry - call us or use the enquiry link below to ask

  

Featured book: New Fiction, News from Nowhere recommends...,
In booklists: Fiction - Irish Writers (and novels set in Ireland), Best New Fiction, Writers by Surname - O, Historical Fiction,
In categories: Fiction, Ireland, Scotland & Wales, History & Biography,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd 2004-2019 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page