Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop
news from nowhere
Liverpool's Radical & Community Bookshop
not-for-profit · a worker's co-operative · committed to social change
Search for & order any book in print:
(goes to our order website)
This book appears in the following booklists

in categories:Fiction, Ireland, Scotland & Wales,

Order this book online - this link leads to our secure order website which will indicate how long the book will take to order.

(Availability of '24-48 hours' means our wholesaler has stock - we place orders 2-3 times a week & receive the books next day.)

(Availability of '7-10 days' or 'Special Order' means we order direct from the publisher - order times vary, many supply within 10 days.)

Phone us: 0151 708 7270

enquire about this book

Mail order, postage & payment information

more about ordering books

The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir

by Lesley Allen
£7.99   paperback  twenty7 (2016)

The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir by Lesley Allen A charming and uplifting story, perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove or Jonas Jonasson.
'If you're a bit of a weirdo you will love Biddy Weir' - Ian Sansom, bestselling author of The Norfolk Mystery.
 
Biddy Weir is a quirky girl.
 
Abandoned by her mother as a baby, and with a father who's not quite equipped for the challenges of modern parenting, Biddy lives in her own little world, happy to pass her time painting by the sea and watching the birds go by. That is, until she meets Alison Flemming.
 
Because there are a few things about Biddy that aren't normal, you see. And Alison isn't afraid to point them out to the world.
 
All of a sudden happy-go-lucky Biddy is a wreck. If only there was someone to convince her that, actually, everyone's a little bit weird...
 
A story of abuse and survival, of falling down and of starting again, and of one woman's battle to learn to love herself for who she is, The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir is Lesley Allen's startlingly honest debut novel.

ISBN 13: 9781785770388 | ISBN 10: 1785770381