Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Soft in the Head

by Marie-Sabine Roger - £8.99  Pushkin Press (2016)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9781782271581 | ISBN 10: 1782271589

An international bestseller, Marie Sabine-Roger's heartwarming novel is a touching and comic tale about the power of books. For fans of The Uncommon Reader and The President's Hat.
 
His mother called him a worthless halfwit while his fellow drunks at the local bar ensure he's the butt of all their jokes. He spends his days whittling wood, counting pigeons and adding his own name to the bottom of the list on the town war memorial. So how could Germain possibly understand what a casual encounter on a park bench with eighty-five year old Margueritte could mean?
 
In this touchingly comic tale of an unusual friendship, that first conversation opens a door into a world Germain could never have imagined - the world of books and ideas - and gives both him and Margueritte a chance at a happiness they thought had passed them by.

(Price & availability last checked: June 2016)

The website can't tell you if this book is in the shop or not, sorry - call us or use the enquiry link below to ask

  


In booklists: Writers by Surname - R, Books About Books!,
In categories: Fiction, Humour, Gifts & Seasonal, Poetry & Writing,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd 2004-2019 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page