Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop
news from nowhere
Liverpool's Radical & Community Bookshop
not-for-profit · a worker's co-operative · committed to social change
Search for & order any book in print:
(goes to our order website)

featured book: New Books for Young Adults,

This book appears in the following booklists

in categories:Childrens & Teenage Books, Black, Asian & Other Diasporas, Fiction, Feminism & Women, Children & Young People, Health & Wellbeing,

Order this book online - this link leads to our secure order website which will indicate how long the book will take to order (if it's not in stock here in the shop).

(Availability of '24-48 hours' means our wholesaler has stock - we place orders 2-3 times a week & receive the books next day.)

(Availability of '7-10 days' or 'Special Order' means we order direct from the publisher - order times vary, many supply within 10 days.)

Phone us: 0151 708 7270

enquire about this book

Mail order, postage & payment information

more about ordering books

Watch Us Rise

by Renée Watson and Ellen Hagan
£7.99   paperback  Bloomsbury Publishing PLC (2019)

Watch Us Rise by Renée Watson and Ellen Hagan A stirring and unputdownable read about what it means to be a woman today. Perfect for fans of Moxie and The Hate U Give.
 
Jasmine and Chelsea are best friends on a mission. Sick of the way that young women are treated even at their 'progressive' New York City high school, they decide to start a Women's Rights Club. One problem - no one shows up. That hardly stops them. They start posting everything from videos of Chelsea performing her poetry to Jasmine's response to being reduced to a racist and sexist stereotype in the school's theatre department. And soon, they've gone viral, creating a platform they never could've predicted.
 
With such positive support, the Women's Rights Club is also targeted by trolls. But Jasmine and Chelsea won't let their voices - or those of the other young women in their city - be silenced. They'll risk everything to be heard and effect change ... but at what cost?

ISBN 13: 9781526600868 | ISBN 10: 1526600862

For mail-order we charge postage at actual cost, at current Royal Mail rates by parcel weight and size