Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Boot: Small Robot, BIG Adventure!

by Shane Hegarty - £6.99  Hachette Children (2019)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9781444949360 | ISBN 10: 1444949365

For fans of WALL-E and Toy Story, comes a heart-warming, humorous adventure about a young robot trying to find its way home. Beautifully illustrated throughout, Boot is a special book you will want to treasure and share.
 
When toy robot, Boot, wakes up at a scrapyard, it has no idea how it got there and why it isn't with its owner, Beth. It only has two and a half glitchy memories, but it knows it was loved, which means something important to humans. Boot soon realises its emotions make it different to other robots, who just function and don't think. Boot is scared but tries to be brave, which is hard when its screen keeps showing a wobbly, worried face. Luckily Boot meets Noke and Red - other 'advanced' robots who have learned to survive in secret.
 
With its new friends by its side, Boot is determined to find Beth and the gang set off on a dangerous adventure. Everything Boot thought it knew about the world is changing and things aren't as simple as it remembers...
 
Boot is a story that will take you by surprise and make you think about the world around you.

(Price & availability last checked: June 2019)

The website can't tell you if this book is in the shop or not, sorry - call us or use the enquiry link below to ask

  

Featured book: New Books for Older Children, NfN Recommends: For Children and Young Adults!,
In booklists: Robots! Books for Children and Young Adults, Fiction - Older Children,
In categories: Childrens & Teenage Books, Fiction,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd 2004-2019 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page