Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

The Electricity of Every Living Thing: A Woman's Walk in the Wild to Find Her Way Home

by Katherine May - £8.99  Orion Publishing Co (Trapeze) (2019)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9781409172512 | ISBN 10: 1409172511

Perfect for fans of The Salt Path and The Outrun, this book is a life-affirming exploration of wild landscapes, what it means to be different and, above all, how we can all learn to make peace within our own unquiet minds.
 
In August 2015, Katherine May set out to walk the 630-mile South West Coast Path. She wanted to understand why she had stopped coping with everyday life; why motherhood had been so overwhelming and isolating, and why the world felt full of inundation and expectations she can’t meet. Setting her feet down on the rugged and difficult path by the sea, the answer begins to unfold. It’s a chance encounter with a voice on the radio that sparks a realisation that she has Asperger’s Syndrome.
 
The Electricity of Every Living Thing tells the story of the year in which Katherine comes to terms with her diagnosis. It leads to a re-evaluation of her life so far – a kinder one, which finally allows her to be different rather than simply awkward, arrogant or unfeeling. The physical and psychological journeys become inextricably entwined, and as Katherine finds her way across the untameable coast, she also finds the way to herself.

(Price & availability last checked: July 2019)

The website can't tell you if this book is in the shop or not, sorry - call us or use the enquiry link below to ask

  

Featured book: New Books - Mind, Body & Spirit, New Books - Women / Feminism,
In booklists: Walking and Rambling, Aspergers Syndrome, Nature and Wildlife, Disability Memoirs and Histories,
In categories: Health & Wellbeing, Environment & Animal Rights, Disability, History & Biography,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd 2004-2019 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page