Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Mistletoe Malice

by Kathleen Farrell - £9.99  Faber and Faber (2023)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9780571378265 | ISBN 10: 0571378269

A dysfunctional family reunites for the Christmas holiday from hell in this rediscovered festive classic with fangs for fans of Barbara Pym, Elizabeth Taylor and Stella Gibbons.
 
‘Literary comfort and joy. It got me out of mourning for the Cazelet Chronicles.’ Meg Mason (author of Sorrow and Bliss)
 
‘A stylish and penetrating comedy of manners. My favourite Christmas book by far – and you can read it all year round.’ Rachel Joyce (author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry)
 
‘A horribly delicious snapshot of post-war family life, in which tensions ensnare the reader in tinsel-covered barbed wire.’ Janice Hallett (author of The Appeal)
 
The fire is on, sherry poured, presents wrapped, and claws are being sharpened. In a seaside cottage perched on a cliff, one family reunites for Christmas. While snow falls, a tyrannical widowed matriarch presides over her unruly brood. Her niece tends to her whims, but fantasises about eloping; and as more guests arrive, each bringing their secret truths and dreams, the Christmas tree explodes, a brawl erupts, an escape occurs – and their ‘midwinter madness’ climaxes...

(Price & availability last checked: November 2023)

This website can't tell you if we have this book in the shop or not - to ask, phone us or use the enquiry link below. (We can order most books within 7-10 days, subject to availability.)
  

Featured book: New Fiction, New Books - Humour, Fun and Gift Books, Recommended Fiction & Poetry for Yuletide 2023!,
In booklists: Best New Fiction, Writers by Surname - F, Festivals and Celebrations: Christmas / Yuletide,
In categories: Fiction, Spirituality, Humour, Gifts & Seasonal,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd IP24524R 2004-2024 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page