Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Dreaming the Bear

by Mimi Thebo - £6.99  Oxford University Press (2016)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9780192745880 | ISBN 10: 0192745883

"When I get up, there's nobody home. Even Mum has gone out. The note says, 'I have to check my emails. I'll snowmobile to the meltline and be back soon. XX Mummy'.
And I think, 'Good. I can feed my bear...'"

 
Darcy's life was never exactly simple, but it was about to become a lot more complicated.
 
Recovering from a distressing illness in her parents' cabin surrounded by looming pine trees, Darcy spends most of her days alone, warming herself by the log fire. That is, until she ventures into the woods hours before a heavy snowstorm, and finds herself face-to-face with a grizzly bear. Their encounter takes a surprising turn when it flourishes into a warm and caring companionship.
 
Set against the beautiful backdrop of the snowy Yellowstone National Park in Montana, Mimi Thebo's poetic tale inspires compassion and friendship, sensitively focusing on how the seemingly impossible can become the achievable.
 
Readership : Kids aged 11+. Readers who love Katherine Rundell and Piers Torday or are fans of books by the likes of Gill Lewis and Sarah Lean.

(Price & availability last checked: February 2018)

The website can't tell you if this book is in the shop or not, sorry - call us or use the enquiry link below to ask

  


In booklists: Fiction - Young Adults,
In categories: Childrens & Teenage Books, Fiction,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd 2004-2019 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page