Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop
news from nowhere
Liverpool's Radical & Community Bookshop
not-for-profit · a worker's co-operative · committed to social change
Search for & order any book in print:
(goes to our order website)

featured book: NfN Recommends: For Children and Young Adults!,

This book appears in the following booklists

in categories:Childrens & Teenage Books, Fiction,

Order this book online - this link leads to our secure order website which will indicate how long the book will take to order (if it's not in stock here in the shop).

(Availability of '24-48 hours' means our wholesaler has stock - we place orders 2-3 times a week & receive the books next day.)

(Availability of '7-10 days' or 'Special Order' means we order direct from the publisher - order times vary, many supply within 10 days.)

Phone us: 0151 708 7270

enquire about this book

Mail order, postage & payment information

more about ordering books

Dreaming the Bear

by Mimi Thebo
£6.99   paperback  Oxford University Press (2016)

Dreaming the Bear by Mimi Thebo "When I get up, there's nobody home. Even Mum has gone out. The note says, 'I have to check my emails. I'll snowmobile to the meltline and be back soon. XX Mummy'.
And I think, 'Good. I can feed my bear...'"

 
Darcy's life was never exactly simple, but it was about to become a lot more complicated.
 
Recovering from a distressing illness in her parents' cabin surrounded by looming pine trees, Darcy spends most of her days alone, warming herself by the log fire. That is, until she ventures into the woods hours before a heavy snowstorm, and finds herself face-to-face with a grizzly bear. Their encounter takes a surprising turn when it flourishes into a warm and caring companionship.
 
Set against the beautiful backdrop of the snowy Yellowstone National Park in Montana, Mimi Thebo's poetic tale inspires compassion and friendship, sensitively focusing on how the seemingly impossible can become the achievable.
 
Readership : Kids aged 11+. Readers who love Katherine Rundell and Piers Torday or are fans of books by the likes of Gill Lewis and Sarah Lean.

ISBN 13: 9780192745880 | ISBN 10: 0192745883

For mail-order we charge postage at actual cost, at current Royal Mail rates by parcel weight and size