Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

One Half from the East

by Nadia Hashimi - £5.99  HarperCollins Publishers Inc (2018)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9780062421913 | ISBN 10: 0062421913

Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh — a preteen girl dressed as a boy.
 
Obayda’s family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family luck — dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh.
 
Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes. Their transformation won’t last forever, though — unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure.
 
Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for adults, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, was a bestseller that shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East.

(Price & availability last checked: May 2018)

The website can't tell you if a book is in the shop or not, sorry - call us or use the enquiry link below to ask

The COVID-19 crisis affects the availability of many books - use the enquiry link below to ask if we can currently supply this book

  


In booklists: Afghanistan: Books for Children, Fiction - Older Children, Asia - Books for Children,
In categories: Childrens & Teenage Books, World - Asia, Fiction,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd 2004-2020 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page