Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Crude: The Story of Oil.

by Sonia Shah - £13.99  Seven Stories (2004)
hardback    ISBN 13: 9781583226254 | ISBN 10: 1583226257

'Crude' is the story of the black gold that eclipsed King Coal, decisibely won the Great War, propelled the west from the industrial revolution to the Plastic Age, and ultimately divided the world of nations into three camps: the powerful, the powerless, and the power-hungry. In the tradition of 'Salt' and 'Cod', author and journalist Sonia Shah elegantly weaves together the science, economics, politics and social history of oil in a way that will forever change the way we look at the world's most coveted and contentious mineral. She takes us on a globe-trotting journey to the far corners of the earth and the depths of the seas, with would-be oil barons, hundreds of Nigerian women who stormed a Chevron plant and a monomaniacal scientist who speaks of oil's "lovely organic molecules."As geopolitical conflicts rage and reserves diminish, our dependancy on oil only rises. The search for oil, Shah suggests, is a race against time.

(Price & availability last checked: April 2018)

The website can't tell you if this book is in the shop or not, sorry - call us or use the enquiry link below to ask

  


In booklists: Poverty & Inequality Worldwide,
In categories: Anti-Capitalism & Global Inequality,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd 2004-2019 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page